farmerbob

New composter, my journey so far

Hello.
I am new to gardening (infact, have not yet started...working on planning and builing my raised beds now.)

I have a small yard. I have decided to compost, though I realize to fill the beds I will have to buy compost.

I do not have access to grass or leaves (lawn service for the community and a small lawn.). Community has few trees thus it is very windy (mobile park).

I eat a ton of fruit...fruit mostly, so I have lots of banana and mango left overs..along with a lot of other fruits scraps.

Those are greens....and I have an endless supply...lol.
I am using a big dual composter, with 50 gallon for each.

I do not want to throw stuff like newspapers, cardboard, paper bags and the like due to the toxic chemicals used in the making of them....and am finding it hard to get browns. I have thrown in unused feline pine and some corn/wheat based litter for cats (all unused)...and that is actually working.

However, I want to be more 'natural'....I have been searching for straw, leaves, or grass clippings from yards not full of pesticides...but cannot find any, even with pesticides.

suggestions appreciated.

10 days in and the little critters are all over the inside of that bin...never saw weird grub looking creatures before. Only half full, but warm...not superhot yet...but probably since there is so little I started with.

added azomite/rock dust... bought a useless bag of starter compost (figured for the first one, why not).
Due to the lack of more browns, there was a smell for the first week...and a lot of flies the first couple days..
But now the smell is not as strong...no more flies...and before I turn it I see the entire top of the pile writhing alive with worm/grub looking critters....

Nothing online really talks about that first pile...or the first few weeks with a composter that is not filled, but still being filled.

it is interesting so far.

so...