gardener72
Newly Registered

Year old manure mixed with fresh manure... mistake?

I am new to the vegetable gardening world. I had a good start last year with no soil fertilizer or any kind of soil amendments. So I was talking to a farmer friend who said put some cow manure in your garden and watch it grow. So he delivered 5 bobcat buckets full of mostly aged manure but it definitely had some fresh manure mixed it. We spread it over the garden about one inch thick. Then we mixed it in to the soil with the bobcat. Knowing there is about 30% fresh manure in the mix will it be safe to have a vegetable garden this year. I certainly hope so. I have 210 seedlings already sprouting.

imafan26
Mod

The standard is 120 days from application of fresh manure to harvest.

https://www.extension.org/pages/17483/ma ... able-crops

applestar
Mod

Wow I'm not familiar with this, but it sounds like it may depend on where you are located -- what the temperatures are like and when you will be planting what -- and what you had intended to plant.

Use of nitrogen-rich fertilizer like manure should really also depend on what you are growing. But other gardeners who regularly use manure as soil amendment and fertilizer would have a better idea about that.

120 days from now is early August.... Late maturing potatoes planted now won't be ready to harvest until early to mid August, but thats cutting it close especially for root crops. Some later maturing tomatoes and slower growing hot peppers when planted in early May, won't be ready to harvest until late July early August. Winter squashes and pumpkins sown in late May are definitely later than that. Sweet potatoes planted in late May early June won't be ready to harvest until October.

LA47
Green Thumb