bowhuntaz

Worm composting and green horse manure...

Gang, I'm doing my research on worm composting, mainly to ensure I have the most broad understanding of what works and what doesn't in the game of worm composting, so I know what I can and can't do.
I have ample supplies of green horse and goat manure, vegetable wastes, and hay shake (the loose stuff that falls off the bales when moving them around).
I'm pretty sure that the goat manure with shavings is fine, but I'm not so sure about the green horse manure or the hay (alfalfa) shake.
I'm thinking that I may have to dry out the manure before adding it into the worm bins, but since I have zero experience in this, I figured I had best ask.
The hay shake, in moderation, I would think fine as well, to avoid it heating up in the bins.
Your thoughts and experiences are very much welcome!
My goal here is a happy worm casting farm that feeds my organic gardens which feeds my family, animals, and the worms....all in a happy circle.

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Manure and the comparatively small size of some intentionally built vermi-compost tubs don't seem (to me) to blend that well.

If the bottom of your manure-fired vermicomposter is open or built on top of pavers and at least four foot, by four foot. Then I might have hopes for it. Smaller and tighter and IMO it will hold too much moisture, and will cook and become anoxic.

I'd still recommend going long on browns and short on poop. The worms will do your work just fine with a rich supply of carbon and a short supply of nitrogen.

Front loading nitrogen rich material will not make the end result come out richer for the addition.

bowhuntaz

Tomc, thanks for the insight!
The horse manure apparently would be too much, but the goat stuff with shavings sounds to me to be ok.
That's just dandy too, as I'll build piles to hot compost instead.
Gotta have balance, right?
I have so many easy sources for compostable materials that it boggles my mind.