jwrandolph12
Newly Registered

What stage do you use your worm compost?

Hi all! I've seen a number of vermicompost posts, but here's a question: at what stage do you personally use your worm composted material? I'm not talking (particularly) about some ideal end state. I guess I more have in mind, when do you say 'enough's enough' and use it for some end?

I have a stackable worm bin I've been using for a couple years. If I wait a really long time and use exactly the right materials, I can get a final product that is mostly just castings. But I like to add a couple of things to the bin (i.e. shredded leaves) that tend to not get digested just like that, and in general I find I'm pulling the material out when it's all more or less black and uniform and indistinct, but before it reaches that uniform castings stage. I use it for potting soil mixes and other things, so I don't mind the extra organic material that's still there.

What do you think? How do you use it? I'm curious. Thanks!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I just keep a worm bin in the non-growing season. When it is about time to shut it down, I just quit feeding them (poor babies). At that point they eat up their bedding (fall leaves) and any food leftovers. So by the time I dump them out I have a big layer on the bottom that is mostly pure castings.
Twitter account I manage for local Sierra Club: https://twitter.com/CherokeeGroupSC Facebook page I manage for them: https://www.facebook.com/groups/65310596576/ Come and find me and lots of great information, inspiration

applestar
Mod