yonnielovesveggies
Cool Member

what to do with vegetable scraps other than composting?

Hi folks

I'm new to this forum and a total beginner to gardening.. and don't really know if this thread belongs under this topic but it's the nearest I can find.

I live in a small apartment in Beijing and don't think I can compost indoors without the smell of my disasters permeating the house.

But I don't want to just toss away my veg scraps/ egg shells either.

So can anyone advise whether vegetable food scraps can be simply mixed in with my potting soil to add nutrients? Is this likely to be harmful to my batch of plants/herbs/or whatever else I'm trying to grow?

I'm experimenting with growing batches of basil, sage, lettuce, rocket etc.. I'm wondering what the effect of adding veg scraps is likely to be.

So grateful for some guidance!

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

This is just my opinion, but I think the scraps might not decompose quickly enough to provide a healthy environment for the roots of your plants. This is especially true if you're gardening in smaller containers. There is the potential for attracting insects and pests, too. In general, there is a minimum size under which composting doesn't work very well.

I suggest that you consider worm composting (vermicompost), or one of the other types of composting, such as bokashi. Neither method should emit odors, if done properly.

If your financial situation allows it, there are even automated indoor compost machines that grind food scraps and produce compost quite rapidly. You can probably find them by a search online.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compost

nickolas

yonnielovesveggies wrote:Hi folks

I'm new to this forum and a total beginner to gardening.. and don't really know if this thread belongs under this topic but it's the nearest I can find.

I live in a small apartment in Beijing and don't think I can compost indoors without the smell of my disasters permeating the house.