yoseph8santoso5
Newly Registered

Let fresh cow dung rest first??

Sorry, I'm a newbie in composting. :oops:

I want to make a compost pile from fresh cow dung, sawdust, rice bran, and rice hull ash. I have read some articles that encourage to let the fresh cow dung first about one week to reduce the moist. I'm afraid if I let the fresh cow dung first, it will loss some nitrogen and will invite some flies and arise some maggots. :eek:

What should prefer I do with my fresh cow dung? Please some advices for me. Thanks a lot. :) :)

Note: I'm in Indonesia which have tropical climate.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm thinking the advice to let cow dung rest for awhile first is about putting it on your garden. You never want to put fresh cow manure directly on the garden. Although I don't use manure in my compost pile, so I don't have direct experience, I don't see any reason why you couldn't put it directly in the compost pile. Cover it with your sawdust, etc which will help keep down the smell and flies. Once it has started breaking down a little bit, you can mix it all together. Moisture is good in a compost pile, especially when your other ingredients are so dry.

!potatoes!
Greener Thumb

I agree. I don't think you have to worry about the cow dung burning your compost pile.

yoseph8santoso5
Newly Registered

Okay, all my new friends. Thanks a lot again for your kindnesses and advices. I'll try to direct throw my fresh cow dung with my other dry carbon material. :D

Thanks a lot :D :D

yoseph8santoso5
Newly Registered

Hi friends. :)
I just made my compost pile this afternoon. :D
Let me ask a question :?: