pickupguy07

compost items by volumn - question???

I did a few searches for this question,.. but didn't have any luck fining anything. Sorry if this has been covered (I figure it has)
Any hoo... I am totally new to composting..
I see the different percentages for greens and browns... (I see some conflicting numbers.. so not sure what to believe)
But just for the sake of my question.. lets assume it's 50/50.Now here's the question.
If we put in 50% greens and 50% browns... is that my volumn of by weight.
Needless to say a bucket (by weight) of leaves (probably weights 1 lb)... is far smaller than a bucket of veggies (could weigh 10 pounds.)
So tell me.. how to I ball park the amounts to add in.
THANKS
I am so excited about getting this going
Life is great..... but if you get lemons - compost them :-)
Near Atlanta GA... newbie to gardening & Composting

hit or miss
Green Thumb

I'm more of a "use what I have" type of composter! I have to really scrounge to come up with any ingredients to put in there so....

Worry less about ratio's and just "do it"!

pickupguy07

yeah.. I can see what you are saying.
Since I JUST got the compost bin finished today it has nothing in it yet. But I started saving a week ago, and have corn husk, banana peels, apple cores, etc ready to go in
I live out in the country with LOTS of trees, and I piled up a ton of leaves this spring.. so I know that I have plenty of browns.
I saw where someone posted about getting coffee grounds from starBucks... just so happens I was headed to the grocery store, and my local Kroger has a StarBucks inside it... so the gal was more than happen to give me the grounds from the whole day...
So I'll start the process tomorrow

Anyone feel free to chime.. I am so 'green' at this LOL :-)

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb