OrganicTexasMama

Tell me more about vermicomposting

I'm new to gardening (doing an organic container garden) and also to composting. I'm seriously considering ordering this redworm composting kit:
https://www.azurestandard.com/shop/product/942/

Is it really as easy as it sounds? Do I have to touch the worms? (I think I can cope with seeing them, but I'm not sure about dealing with them more than that!) How does one get at the castings to use? And the tea? How is that made?

I'd really love a quick Vermicomposting 101 before I jump in. :D

Thanks!
OTM

Odd Duck

You will have to at least somewhat touch the worms at some point in order to harvest the castings. Feel free to get some gloves, though. A lot of people use exam gloves (you can get a box for around $15.00) or dedicate a pair of kitchen gloves just for the worms. How you get at the castings depends on what type of worm bin you decide to use. There are several different types. The most basic is like what you've linked to but I would suggest this one just because of proximity and because I know Heather is good to do business with and very helpful. Look near the middle of this page:

https://www.txwormranch.com/Wormshop_Services.html

Or watch the videos on this site:

https://www.wormbincomposting.com/raisingredworms.html

Liz is also very easy to do business with, has worms for sale also, and is super helpful. I think she has a more extensive website and more information on raising worms.

There are several websites dedicated to vermicomposting, here's a couple more of my favorites. The first has loads of information on multiple types of bins, info on different species of worms, as well as selling worms, too. The second is a forum with some very experienced, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly people. There is absolutely loads of information available there, but you'll have to do some searching (the search engine is not terrific, but not the worst I've used, either).

https://www.redwormcomposting.com/