Hitched_Gibson

Got pallets to make my compost bin

...I'm new to gardening and I just got pallets to make my compost bin yesterday. I've also found loads of horse poo online. Anyway, I just had to tell someone who knows how exciting this is.

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

Ah, life's little pleasures to a gardener. Free pallets and the manure to help fill them for composting. Doesn't get any better than that.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Good answer, gumbo!! Those of us who hang out a lot here in the composting forum, understand the magic of taking garbage and sh*t and making good rich soil out of it! Exciting indeed!

Hitched_Gibson

Hopefully this bug stays around. I don't think this is a hobby that I can learn and move on. Just got a reply on Craigslist so I'm going to pick up the poo after class.

Hitched_Gibson

And I almost forgot. Do I need a fork for the compost or will a shovel work(which I already have)?

Hitched_Gibson

So my free poop looks like dirt and mulch. Smells like dirt too. Did I get robbed?

rot
Greener Thumb

I think you got aged, all but composted manure. I bet you could just spread on the garden directly. You can always show some to one of your garden buddies to see what they say.

to sense

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Yeah, ask for your money back! :) Just kidding. Agree with rot, sounds like what you got was well aged, pre-composted manure. Great for your garden, not so much for your compost pile. You may have to look around for a different green (yes manure is a "green" not a "brown") for your compost pile.

Hitched_Gibson

Thanks. Now I've just got to come up with enough green to go in there.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

I recommend used coffee grounds. :)

tomc
Super Green Thumb

New poo, will heat up your compost pile. Old poo will not hurt a compost pile, even if it does little to get a pile cooking. It is likely to be full of worm eggs if nothing else.

I might use that old poo directly on my garden. But its all good.