annastasia76

green vs brown

I am just learning about compost, and I am seeing some conflicting info out there as to how much of each you are supposed to add. I checked out a book (frugal gardening) from the library that says 4 parts brown to 1 part green (and it has to be shredded) but I have seen on websites other info, like 3 parts green to 1 part brown but not mention of it having to be shredded.

we do not have much to compost here, not much in the way of leaves, tons of weeds though but since we have been catching it on time it's getting less and less each year. I do have a neighbor with several horses that I can get manure from and possibly straw/left over uneaten hay. I can scrounge for leaves though I think it's the wrong time right now. I may also beg for neighbor's old newspapers and shred that. but I am looking for the quickest method of getting good compost so I am planing on having to turn it, so any hints and tips are more than welcome. also any no no's.

also with horse manure, how long does it have to compost before it's usable and how long until the seeds won't sprout. same for if I get cow manure because I know somebody with cows also.

M.Clark

I do the 3 to 1 ratio but it all depends on what I am adding. Green grass clippings (greens) end up being a closer to a 4 to 1, but spent grain or coffee grounds (both greens) can go as lean as a 2 to 1 ratio. Anything shredded will break up faster, so just about everything gets cut into pieces.

If you start a pile and it starts to stink you either have too much green or too much water. Best solution in both cases is a bunch of shredded newspaper (with soy based ink) or brown paper bags. If you dig it up to mix the pile and there is little to heat, or if there are no worms, add more green.

farmerlon
Green Thumb

University Extension Agencies recommend a Carbon/Nitrogen ratio of 25:1 or 30:1 as ideal for compost processing.

Does anyone ever know what the real ratio is in their compost? ... I doubt it.