Natureboy44
Newly Registered

Compost Bin Shopping - Need Help from you Experts

Okay so I am brand new to composting. I have been wanting to do it for the longest time but havn't for some odd reason. However now I am breaking down and getting a compost bin. However, I have a few questions for you guys. Please bear with me reading this long post but I really really need the help deciding. So I have been threw many online reviews of compost bins and read up on a variety of them. I have come down to two or so I think. If there are anything better out there please feel free to chime in. But the two I have my eyes on are the Compost Wizard (https://www.compostbins.com/compost-bins/compost-tumblers/rotocomposter12cubicfeetcompostbin.cfm) and the Nature Mill XE Series.

Now let me illustrate a picture for you of why I can't decide between these two compost bins. First off I will be living in an apartment with two other roommates. Colorado is where I will be living which of course has quite the cold weather. I was concerned if I purchased a compost bin that during the winter (which in colorado seems to last forever) it would become nearly nonexistant. Now correct me if I am wrong I'm no expert but I read that during the winter that if the compost bins loose heat that they will slow the process. This leads to not being able to put much waste into the compost bin. To avoid this I thought well maybe I'll bring it inside but for the courtesy of my roomates I didn't want to bring in a smelly compost bin and set it in the middle of our kitchen. I don't have a huge amount of room outside either as all that I have is a small porch to place the compost bin so no huge backyard or anything so I was looking for a rather compact compost bin: Nature Mill & Compost Wizard.