Sengyan

Material in Compost Tumbler Not Heating Up

I filled up a 55 gal. home made tumbler 2/3 - 3/4 full with greens and browns over a period of a week. The greens are home trimmings and grass clippings and straw is the brown. I mixed the green and the brown, at a 2 to 1 ratio by volume, in a wheel-barrow before addind to the tumbler. I have been adding greens every 2 days. I tumbler every time I added material to the tumbler. It has now been 3 days since the last addition and the content is cold. From the very beginning I have been tumbling 2 times a day turning 5-6 times very time. What do I have to do to get it heating? All advice is very appreciated.

Thank you.

Sengyan

Grey
Greener Thumb

It may need a little water - moisture helps speed the process. I've never used a tumbler before so hopefully someone else who has can help you.

Dedee

Ther is a awesome site that is very informative on composting you should check it out :wink: www.compostguide.com

Grey
Greener Thumb

Great link, Deedee!

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

If it is not heating up, you probably have to many browns ( leaves, newspaper, etc) and not enough greens (vegetables, grass clippings, coffee grinds, manure, etc)

milifestyle

I would suggest a need for a little moisture also.

That link has some great information.

Eric.
Last edited by milifestyle on Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lefty317

boy at a 2:1 ratio plus, there should be plenty of greens in there, I wonder... is there any odor???? since this post was made in mid july, outside temps should not be a problem, I think maybe he is over agitating a little. I just stir mine once a week, and with equal N:C, it gets plent hot.

virchu
Newly Registered