csibona

Composting Mandarin Oranges

Generally I don't compost citrus fruit because they can petrify before they compost in my composter. Are there any issues with composting mandarin oranges? It seems like they have thinner rinds so perhaps would not be an issue.

Thanks for any insight.

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

I try not to compost any fruit, whether citrus or other type, whole. I cut them into halves or quarters and then toss them into the compost. That way, they don't get a chance to petrify! :twisted: Compost is their fate and they can't escape it! [evil laugh]

Don't worry: the mandarins will break down just fine. Peel them a little to give an entryway to the compost critters, and all will be well.

Happy gardening.

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

mommybusybee
Newly Registered

I actually just asked my mother-in-law about putting fruit into my [url=https://www.organic-composter.com/]composter[/url] (I'm new to all of this as well).

Her motto was always that if it oxidized, it wasn't any good. Obviously, citrus fruit won't do that, but the excess sugars could have an adverse effect on it. As mentioned, I'm going by my mother in law's word.

Also, I'm not sure where you're from, but I'm from a very large city.
I managed to find this composting site specifically for NYers and it's certainly helped me. Maybe it'll help you too:

https://www.nyccompost.org/

Good luck! :)

smokensqueal
Green Thumb

Throw them in there. They will compost. But like cynthia said don't throw them in whole unless you want them in there a long time. I compost all our left over fruit. Very rarely is it a whole fruit usually the skin or core only but we go through I don't know how many mandarin oranges and they have no problem composting.

rot
Greener Thumb

Follow the ten percent rule and you should have no worries.

I compost citrus all the time. No issues. Have worms. Have fungus.