Ninelives

Homemade Compost Tumbler

This cost me $0

This was made out of items I had laying around the house, 2 x 4 ,saw horse brackets, trash can 1/2" conduit, 3/4" PVC and bolts and screws.

Compost is sitting out there cooking away, this compost tumbler works really good.

[img]https://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu100/ninelives_9/Garden%202009/DSC01492.jpg[/img]

vintagejuls
Green Thumb

Wow, great job Ninelives. How creative you are! 8)

Ninelives

Thank you vintagejuls :D

2cents
Green Thumb

Is there any difficulty keeping the lid on when you turn it?

Ninelives

No the lid stays on tight, I will get a pictures of how I have it made and post it in the norning, I drilled out holes for bolts to go thru, so the lid is bolted on.Foil tape to keep the bolts in place so they don't fall out when the lid is off.I am an HVAC tech, I have a fluke meter I will take an inturnal temp and post that also.

Ninelives

Compost is almost ready and it's only been in there less then a week, 2 or 3 more days and it will be good to go.Took these picture at 7:00am this morning.It really heats up during the heat of the day.

[img]https://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu100/ninelives_9/Garden%202009/DSC01520.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu100/ninelives_9/Garden%202009/DSC01519.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu100/ninelives_9/Garden%202009/DSC01518.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu100/ninelives_9/Garden%202009/DSC01516.jpg[/img]

stvfarmboy

That is a great idea. I have thrown around the idea of making my own compost tumbler, but wasn't sure where I could get a metal barrel that I could use.

Does the garbage can lift off or anything so you can empty it? Or do you just dump it out into another container of some sort when you have finished compost?

Ninelives