stiggs
Newly Registered

Fruit and Veg waste

Hey, I am very new to gardening and wonder if anyone could give me some advice.

We have a heavy duty, plastic compost bin in the garden for at least a year now. I didnt set it up but I believe there is twigs at the bottom. From the start almost all that went into it has been fruit and vegetable scraps/waste - no layering or anything like that. Also there is no air holes in it to allow circulation and it has never been turned :oops:

Just curious is this still usable? I looked in the little door at the bottom and it looks pretty decayed except a few egg shells. It seems a little moist.

I would like to plant some flowers, should I mix in some of this compost with topsoil and then add the flowers?

Thanks for reading :D

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm not sure I have any expert answer to this question. It's certainly less than ideal in terms of mixture of nutrients, carbon-nitrogen balance, fungus/bacterial balance etc. It sounds like it was anerobically composted. I would pull some out and take a look. If it does not look moldy and if it does not smell bad, then it's probably ok, but I'd want to mix in some carbon sources with it-- last year's fallen leaves would be good if you still have some around or finely shredded paper (we keep a shredder for running papers through, the product of the shredder works great for this). Other people's opinions?

rot
Greener Thumb

If you've got worms in there and it doesn't stink and it doesn't look like anything you put in there outside of the egg shells then it's probably good to go.

The smell will be the thing to tell.

Since I just top dress, I'd probably spread it on top of the beds even it was a little stinky if I really need to do something with it..

stiggs
Newly Registered

Thank you rainbowgardener and rot for taking the time to give me some good advice.
Yeah there are definitley worms in there, the last time I added stuff one did a bungee jump in from the top :D