annafaie
Cool Member

2 trashcans for "turning"? And how long before 1st

I'm a total compost newbie. I've been reading and reading all days and I have 2 questions...maybe more...let's see how my thoughts in this post transfer out of my head :wink:

1. Couldn't I have 2 LARGE trashcans that are properly prepped for composting (holes, etc). I could begin filling only 1 and to "turn" them daily I could just transfer everything into the empty can and then repeat the next day? I have minimal needs for composting (just for a SMALL garden (8' x 8') so a HUGE trashcan should do me just fine, right?

2. Some say layer brown and green...some say mix all together. Some say turn daily, weekly, quarterly. I'm so confused. My question is two-fold:

(1)On Day 1 of my composting adventure do I just start throwing my applicable kitchen waste and other compost stuff (I know what to use so that's not the issue) into the can? If so, do I wait a certain amount of time before I turn it the first time and then after that do I turn it daily? I guess I just need to know when first to turn it if I'm slowly adding stuff. And then once I turn it the 1st time how often do I turn it after that?

(2) Can I just add stuff as I have it to add? Like one week I cook a lot at home so I have lots of kitchen scraps and then the next week I don't really have that much and then 1 week we have lots of leaves and grass clippings and then not so much in later weeks, etc... Isn't that how it works?

Oh, thought of another question :D

3. Can I water my garden and/or compost pile with the water we have from changing our fish tank and fish filter? It is essentially dirty poop water but I've heard it's full of nutrients. Is this an ok water source to use for garden/compost?

Thanks, in advance, for your help!!!! This forum is so awesome for me, the newbie gardner!!!!

rot
Greener Thumb