Vallia
Newly Registered

Self composting garden

I was wondering whether this would work or not.I think all I would need to do is as I work just leave the dead leaves in it and any old rotting veggsin the garden and maybe throgh in some grass. If any one else has tried this please let me know how it went. thankyou

smokensqueal
Green Thumb

I haven't tried this but this is my first year for a garden. I plan on doing something similar this fall. I have a raise bed sort of. I have sides on it but the dirt inside isn't much higher then the dirt outside of it. I plan on loading it up with leave and maybe some other stuff I get for the winter then when spring comes I'll see what the leaves look like if need be I'll take some of the bigger ones of the top and use them in my compost but if it looks like they started breaking down I'm just going to work them into my soil.

My step dad does something similar after he is done with a plant in the garden he just starts making a pile and in the fall he will pile leave on that and anything else from the yard then I think in the spring he just tills it in. It's easier for him because he has a tractor tiller.

brewerjamie15

The dried leafs idea is a good one. If I may suggest, try using the lawn mower to chop the snot out of them. I leave the bag off the lawn mower and leave the mower setting on "mulch". I run over the leafs one way (like North/South) and then put the bag back on the mower and run a path in a different direction (East/West) I then dump the finely shredded yard waste on top of the beds and leave it until spring. Once the soil is workable, I turn the compost into the soil. I don't like to roto-till because of tiller pan compaction, and the destruction or worm tunnels which help aerate the roots of my plants.