Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

AArrggghhhh

I seem so be spending my every leisure minute fighting my computer. When I log on to my email page I get the following error:

Google Maps API server rejected your request. The "sensor" parameter specified in the request must be set to either "true" or "false"

I researched as best as I could and all of the sights I looked at talked about rewriting code and more stuff that I have no clue about. I'm unaware of even using Google maps. I ripped all things Google from my computer to the point that if I do a search for Google on my computer, nothing shows up. But somehow Google is stikll placing itself between me an my mail account.

I hit the okay button on the error message and it allows me to proceed to my email page.

Is there a way to kill this thing or do I just need to buy a new computer. I think this thing is supposed to serve me, not the other way around.

User avatar
hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:58 am
Location: Central Sand Hills South Carolina

Re: AArrggghhhh

If a windows computer, the easiest fix might be with 'system restore'. Go to 'programs', then 'accessories', then 'system tools' and find and open 'system restore'. Choose a restore point from a date when you know that your e-mail was working properly, and tell the program to restore your system to that point. Any programs or updates since that time will be lost, but any work or files will be saved.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

lemme guess.... you're using gmail?

Google, like Microsoft, Twitter, Facebook - and a huge host of other companies have the quaint idea that they own you, your computer, the internet, and everything connected to it. their behavior is outrageous.

what browser and OS are you using?
try
deleting all cookies
clearing browser cache
turn computer OFF - not restart, OFF

if that doesn't work, on a Windows machine
RUN cleanmgr.exe
let it delete / cleanup all temp and cache files / error files / etc.

hopefully it's just something in temporary storage; elsewise we break out CCleaner.

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

The restore totally crashed and burned the blasted machine. When it restarted I got that blue screen saying everything was dead or angry but with a lot more words. I saw "fatal" a lot. I did a safe restart and the computer told me I had had a crash [wrong term but right idea] It offered to fix itself. It also said that the restore failed. I left if while it looked for a way to repair itself. An hour and a half later it booted up fine.

The Google error message is still there. I appreciate the idea Alex. No joy though.

Dilbert, I do not use Gmail. I use my broadband supplier's email service.

I use the latest edition of Firefox. I am going to go work the garden for a bit and then try what you suggested.

I do Facebook.
I don't use Explorer.
Charlie don't surf or tweet. That was my Robert Duval impression..

I'll check to see if there are further instructions before I start dumping cookies.

Thank you both and anybody else that tries.



Edit: I dumped history and cookies. No joy.... :evil:

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

Except for having to click okay on the error message this Google thing seems to be fairly benign. It is only having an effect on my email sight. I have spent enough time on it for now.

I can call Geek Squad and let them fix the thing remotely by taking over my computer but who has time?

Dilbert, you are exactly right. These software companies seem to take outrageous liberties with our computers. We long ago dedicated this machine to surfing, purchasing [iTunes, Amazon, Netflix etc] and we have another laptop that we bank on and conduct other business. I don't think either of us has ever done a search on it.

Cyber villainy came to the entire state of South Carolina 7 or 8 months ago when some hacker in Russia [they think] hacked the state internal revenue system. Basically, the hacker got everybody's SS# and possibly a great many bank account numbers and passwords of everyone in the state who has ever filed an electronic tax return. It was so bad that the state bought every single resident , including those deceased within the last ten years free credit monitoring service for a year.It turns out that the state IRS had not even bothered to encrypt it's sight. Anybody want to move here? We have low taxes and small government.

Fortunately we earn our income in NC and do not pay SC state tax so hopefully we are out of that trap. We did take the free credit monitoring. The services notifies us of all transactions 3 months after the fact.

I feel like my computer has a big dose of the clap although my security software says all is well. I'll just let everything ride for now.

Is WD 40 the computer equivalent of penicillin? I could just hose the darn thing down with that.

imafan26
Mod
Posts: 12913
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:32 am
Location: Hawaii, zone 12a 587 ft elev.

Re: AArrggghhhh

You should be backing up your computer regularly. When you get your computer, one of the first things you should do is make a back up disc. I hard copy anything important or actually send the file to my mailbox. Eventually all computer files become corrupted, so hard copy is the way to go for anything really important. Make a copy of your contact list too and update once in a while.

I have have had computer viruses that crashed my computer three times. It seems the computer geeks take the easy way out and restore the computer to factory settings. It does basically eliminate the virus, but everything else as well.
You could do that yourself and not pay their exorbitant fees.

Restore points only work if you periodically set restore points when your computer prompts you or do it as part of the housekeeping chores.

I also have ccleaner and malwarebytes. They are free programs that I have used to clean up storage and minor malware issues. I found that if viruses find their way into your system you may have to upgrade your antivirus program.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

when you click to open your email - for some reason the computer is being sent to Google Maps.
now, it actually could be a coding error in your email page - the email page is trying to fetch something from GoogleMaps but with some bad code. for as long as it's been going on, one could also think "they'd fixed it by now"

it also doesn't sound much like malware/virus - those typically are not sending you to Google Maps but some other nasty site.....

if this is still acting up, there's a couple simple things to try.

not sure what system you're running but

start
run
ipconfig /flushdns
<enter>

after it reports "Successfully . . . " restart the machine.

this should remove any IP addresses stored locally on your computer - forcing the local machine to "look up" the address next time.

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

Dillbert, this computer doesn't have a place to type "run". When you hit "start" you get the program menu and there is a "search" where the thing used to be for typing run.

I searched "run" and pasted the command there and it just shut down the computer.

You may be right in saying that this may be specific to the email sight because my wife's computer is doing the same thing. This message only appears on the mail web sight.

Sometime when I have an entire day st spend in the automated dialer, I'll call the ISP [which is our email sight] or I'll call Geek Squad. We prepaid for GS but it's just so time consuming.

User avatar
webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 9413
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Amherst, MA USDA Zone 5a

Re: AArrggghhhh

I agree, it sounds like something not coded correctly at your ISP. If that's the case then it's nothing to do with your computer or Microsoft Windows. To double check if it's a browser thing, you might try downloading the Opera Browser, installing it, then check if the error happens with Opera. If not then it's your browser. If it still happens then it's the website.
this computer doesn't have a place to type "run".


Try this...

Right click the "Start" button

Choose "Properties"

Click the button labeled "Customize"

Under the "Advanced Start Menu" items, click the box labeled "Display Run"

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

Eureka! It's my ISP. I logged on using Opera and got the same message. I have "run" on my menu now. Thank you Dillbert and Roger. You guys should get jobs that involve computers. :-()

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

I agree it is most probably a coding error in the ISP page.

going there... it pulls up info on weather, etc - stuff that is "by location/geography" it "reads" your IP, cross references the IP to a geographic location, calls up the weather for that spot.

fwiw, a "web page" is (sigh) not a 'one size fits all' thing. they have to be coded for different operating systems (Mac, Unix, and several thousand flavors of Windows) then on top of that, by the browser in use.

I pulled down the web page code, your ISP is not directly calling GoogleMaps (which would translate lat/long to 'local weather') but rather is calling many many many 'internal' ISP functions. it's a really good bet that they've got a boo-boo somewhere in their coding that is not passing valid parameters to the GoogleMaps API (=Application Programming Interface) - thus producing the error msg.

to muddle the waters further, it is not usual for an ISP to have different pages based on dial-up / broadband connections...

I did not see the error msg here - using Vista and Firefox on cable broadband

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

We are in a tiny South Carolina town. You have to understand that in addition to the internet being a series of tubes, there are undoubtedly people here who don't believe in the WWW based on their religious doctrine.

We have tried to move to a larger ISP like ATT but they all tell us that someone in our neighborhood would have to drop their service to make room for us. It's kind of like living in a place where Tracy Morgan makes up the rules on the fly.

When a sight or video locks up, it just provides an opportunity to go make a protein shake or cup of tea.

I appreciate the effort you guys put in to help and I won't rush out to replace my computer.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

heehee.

there's advantages and non-advantages to being in boonieland (g)

when we lived in NJ, there was nothing but copper telephone wires available - no cable (anything) - FIOS was a term reserved for foreign lands, etc you get the idea - same as your situation, I suppose.

when we moved to civilization I signed up for cable tv & internet - only glitch was the local company was a bunch of yahoos whot never no'ed nuttin' about pretty much everything. we were having such fits with cable my DW said she wanted to go back to CompuServe. so I changed the connection configuration to do a 56k dial up (still had the account....)

took one day for DW to decide perhaps the cable issues were not as bad as she thought.....

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

Hooterville made for good TV but living in a real Hooterville does have it's drawbacks.

User avatar
prettygurl
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:52 am

Re: AArrggghhhh

I HATE that companies are forcing the "integration" down our throats. I don't use social media so I don't need all these stupid apps that came with Windows 8.

User avatar
hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:58 am
Location: Central Sand Hills South Carolina

Re: AArrggghhhh

This is not a social media site? Gotcha! :-()

Can't most unwanted apps be easily removed?

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

get yourself a case of Revo - run it in the most detailed mode.
it's pretty much the first thing I do with a new computer - get rid of all the crapware pre-loaded on the machine.

note: some of the crapware is "there" but not "installed" - check the Revo listing - if it is simply "on the disk" you can delete the sub-directory and all "shortcuts" to it without going thru Revo.

alternately, let it the crapware install, then remove.

https://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uni ... nload.html

LGT
Full Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:42 am
Location: Dothan, AL

Re: AArrggghhhh

I got a new computer at work---Windows 8 which I hate. I wish I just could go back to Windows 95 or 98 when things were much simpler. I have tried finding a start button download for Windows 8 and everything I have found so far online is junk. Please someone help me find one for free that actually works. Thanks.

User avatar
hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:58 am
Location: Central Sand Hills South Carolina

Re: AArrggghhhh

A person just can't get to set in his/her ways with technology. Gotta remain flexible. The changes will sometimes be better, sometimes not. Just have to go with the flow. I have Windows 7 on two machines. They require a bit of a learning curve over my old XP systems, but no big deal with most things, just have to learn a new way and then get used to it.

I switched to iMac for my two desktops about three years ago. Same story there, things work differently. There are many ways to perform the same task. There is a learning curve for most every activity on the machine. But no big deal, not so much easier or harder, just different.

My iPad works way different from either the iMacs or the PCs, but just another example of different and a new learning curve. Thankfully, the iPad and my iPhone work very similarly. From what I'm reading, they intend to move the desktops and notebooks in the same platform direction as the smart phones and tablets. Sounds to me like that is the direction that they have taken with windows 8. Guess I'll find out sooner or later, as will likely keep at least one windows device.

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Re: AArrggghhhh

It's one thing to go with the flow. It's another to have to be chasing technology to keep up. I have iPod classics because they hold more music than any other mini, portable, small, tiny format thingie. There is no iPad that offers me 120 gig of storage. I have 10 straight days of music on my classics and several years of music shows and they aren't half full.

I use some social media like Facebook and You Tube but I think they both infest my computer with unwanted things that slow it down. So far McAfee has kept my machine virus free [as far as I know but mysterious things happen all the time. The machine slows down and speeds up for no obvious reason. Sometimes it takes ten minutes to close when I shut it off and other times it takes my browser 2 or 3 minutes to open.

I downloaded revo and looked at it and I'm just not literate enough to know what I'm looking at. The worst offenders seem to be Google and Apple. I don't use Google for anything but searches and occasionally Google Earth for fun [though I used to use it to locate channels for navigating the boat on the coast. GE is much better in some cases than trusting a plotter especially on an overcast day.

As a result there are all kinds of tool bars, search engines, and according to revo things I never had a clue were in my computer. I'm not sure where to start removing stuff so I just won't. I usually wait until the thing slows down so much that I can't live with it and then let Geek squad root around since I bought the service.

I'd settle for one way to do a task that I'm interested in rather than multiple ways that just confuse me. There is a cultural aspect to computers that is off putting to me. They are necessary if I want to , for instance, have a pool of experts who can take me from a "never planted a seed " woodworker/sea captain to growing a year's worth of food. I have that thanks to Roger and THG.

I'm constantly amazed at the computer expertise that people like Dillbert and Tomf have amassed and share so freely just as all the master gardeners here do with their growing skills. But I honestly know enough about computers to be dangerous.

User avatar
tomf
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:15 am
Location: Oregon

Re: AArrggghhhh

At work I use PC's, in my home office and studio I use Mac's. I had some PC's with windows at home once. I do have Windows on a partition on one of my Mac's so I can run OSX and Windows at the same time if I need to, but I hardly do. Just saying what I find works well.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

(sigh, the Start Menu......)

except for the last two, these are free.
most talk about 're-creating' the Win7 type start menu vs the XP

https://www.classicshell.net/

note: has slight differences from Windows Start
https://www.pokki.com/windows-8-start-menu

note: this is a beta product
https://code.google.com/p/power8/

this one well recommended - it's $5 shareware - 30 day free trial
https://www.stardock.com/products/start8/


there are others - example
https://lee-soft.com/vistart/windows-8-start-menu.html

try Metacrawler.com with search
win xp start menu for win8

be aware, the malware cretins are all over this topic - so if you see something that looks good, be absolutely sure to Google/research it _before_ downloading or installing for unpleasant side effects.

there are a bunch of Win8 shortcut keys just hitting the WinKey (with the 4 block MS logo) switches between "Charm" mode and the Desktop mode.
here's a complete description - note that MS has gone overboard fully clothed to obscure the meanings of this stuff - my advice, just hit WinKey+(the list) and see which ones you like / find useful.

https://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... -shortcuts

LGT
Full Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:42 am
Location: Dothan, AL

Re: AArrggghhhh

Thanks classic shell worked wonderfully. Now I want spend forever trying to figure out how to shut down the computer. I just know how to use computers somewhat--don't really know how they work.

User avatar
tomf
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:15 am
Location: Oregon

Re: AArrggghhhh

LGT wrote:Thanks classic shell worked wonderfully. Now I want spend forever trying to figure out how to shut down the computer. I just know how to use computers somewhat--don't really know how they work.

Have you ever seen Tron? Little comuter people do it all inside of them.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb
Posts: 955
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: AArrggghhhh

>>shut down the computer . . .
giggle. this issue got it's life when XP introduced the concept:
"To turn off the Computer, click on Start"

rafts of people had issues getting past that kind of logic (g)

we have a Win8 desktop. I've assigned a new moniker to the OS:
WinAte - "as in Windows ate my machine / productivity / knowledge base"

I've noticed a number of "features" of irritation, not too many of which I've had the time to explore or resolve.

ordered a new notebook - with Win7. should ship May 5; my son has a business solely equipped with Win7 machines - which I've used "in passing" - so I know there's more than a few things I'll need to re-learn.

>>Revo
when started it displays a list of all the installed programs. right click on the program listing and select "Uninstall"
now - it is true one needs to know / recognize what is junkware and what really should not be removed....

Charlie, if you want, send me a PM with a direct email address and I can help walk you through the process(es)

the issue with the Geek Squad is simply you need to be "there" so they can ask "Do you use xxx?" - to tell them whether or not it should get ditched.

most machines come "preloaded" with tons and tons of garbage - and (gag!) a lot of it is "trial" versions of stuff - once installed / up and running you have x days to pay or have it report 'disabled' -

example: if it's a MS system, you've likely got a trial version of MS Office - do you have an old version? do you even want it? would you ever buy it? look about, you may also have a 'forever free' copy of MS Works installed. MS Works is just a crippled aka 'limited' version of MS Office - but it does work peachy keen for rudimentary word processing / spreadsheets.

side note: MS states that older versions of MS Office - which you paid $400+ to "own" - are not compatible with WinAte and MS declines to provide an update for same.

ah,, not really true. I installed Office 2003 on WinAte; there may be some issues with MS Access as several ODBC drivers were "not found" - the primary issue is getting Office 2003 to "register itself" - which is solved by re-booting WinAte into SafeMode, running Word or Excel or PowerPoint. in safe mode it registers and stops it whining when you try to use in 'normal' WinAte mode.

problem not yet researched,,,, seems Office 2003 does not "auto update" when installed on WinAte - requires manual "forced" installs of updates / security issues....

example2: Movie Maker. are you really into editing video files? _big_ MB program; few will ever need / use it.

Adobe . . . once the premier pdf file (reading) software - has become so bloated it is a royal PITA to use. Foxit Reader - much more better for the casual pdf user.

ditto for Irfanview - a straight to the point jpg file handler....

...terminating rant - there's lots and lots more (sigh)



Return to “Non-Gardening Related Hoo-ha and Foo”