User avatar
applestar
Mod
Posts: 28562
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:21 pm
Location: Zone 6, NJ (3/M)4/E ~ 10/M

DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME -- UPDATE YOUR PROFILE

Daylight Savings Time has started for some of us, and the Profile setting for timezone will need to be updated.

Now for some reason, it is messed up so the selection doesn't reflect the correct relationship to the GMT. For example, NJ and other Eastern Daylight Savings time zone should be set to "GMT +5" You'll know you got it right when the posting time stamp shows correct time.

User avatar
IndyGerdener
Green Thumb
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Greenwood, Indiana

The time has never been right for me. I have changed my profile time zone and it is still showing the wrong time. Even kentucky windage never can correct it

User avatar
applestar
Mod
Posts: 28562
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:21 pm
Location: Zone 6, NJ (3/M)4/E ~ 10/M

What did you change it to?

I'm trying to decide if I should reset my light timers -- they were originally set up to turn on a little before dawn, then stay on for 16 hrs. So *technically* they are still turning on at about the right "time"... Maybe more like @dawn now.

My WNW window gets no sun during the winter months, but now, the westering/setting sun shines into that window a while, giving the tomato seedlings a bit of sunshine. 8)

User avatar
IndyGerdener
Green Thumb
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Greenwood, Indiana

GMT + 5 hours

It may work now...

User avatar
rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 25279
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: TN/GA 7b

I never changed mine the last time, so it is now right again! :)

User avatar
LA47
Green Thumb
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:55 am
Location: Idaho

Just checking mine.

User avatar
LA47
Green Thumb
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:55 am
Location: Idaho

Nope. I tried to change it and it just keeps going back to the same thing. What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
tomf
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:15 am
Location: Oregon

Test

User avatar
applestar
Mod
Posts: 28562
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:21 pm
Location: Zone 6, NJ (3/M)4/E ~ 10/M

After changing the Profile setting, did you hit SUBMIT?

User avatar
LA47
Green Thumb
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:55 am
Location: Idaho

:oops: Nope! Gee, now it works. :oops:

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

We have two vehicles that don't automatically change so they just stay wrong for 4 months a year or so. It's 5:18 pm here, now.

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

My computer clock appears to be 6 minutes off from THG It's 5:20 PM now

User avatar
prettygurl
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:52 am

I'm not awake yet and ya'll spring this on me.

User avatar
Jardin du Fort
Senior Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:59 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Apparently you have to post in order for your personal time to be displayed. Consequently, this is my test to see what time I'm in.

I was off by two hours. Hopefully I made the adjustment in the correct direction. :lol:

Yep, got it right the first time!

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

test

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

test

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

test

User avatar
webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 9266
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Amherst, MA USDA Zone 5a

To make your Time show the correct time, go into your profile and scroll to the section where it shows to set your GMT Time Zone. I'm on the East Coast so my setting is -4 hours. If your on Central Time, let's say one hou difference from East Coast, then you should set it for -5 hours and if you're on the West Coast then the correct setting should be -7 hours.

User avatar
applestar
Mod
Posts: 28562
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:21 pm
Location: Zone 6, NJ (3/M)4/E ~ 10/M

Yay it's working! :D

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

webmaster wrote:To make your Time show the correct time, go into your profile and scroll to the section where it shows to set your GMT Time Zone. I'm on the East Coast so my setting is -4 hours. If your on Central Time, let's say one hou difference from East Coast, then you should set it for -5 hours and if you're on the West Coast then the correct setting should be -7 hours.
Yes. Thank you. The time was 6 minutes off and I have seen this before. Now it is 3 minutes.

Eric

User avatar
webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 9266
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Amherst, MA USDA Zone 5a

Fixed.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

another test.

COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!

User avatar
IndyGerdener
Green Thumb
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Greenwood, Indiana

test

User avatar
IndyGerdener
Green Thumb
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Greenwood, Indiana

how bout another

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1544
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:48 pm

Does anybody really know what time it is?

Does anyone really care?

My car and truck are right for a few months each year because I'm too lazy to learn how to set the time by reading the smart papers.

My computer, Direct TV and one clock reset automatically but other than that, digital clocks stay on daylight savings time. I do reset wheel clocks.

User avatar
IndyGerdener
Green Thumb
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:32 pm
Location: Greenwood, Indiana

HAHA it is the time for people to remember the time by something that can stand the test of time!!

GOOGLE!!!

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 6113
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:43 pm

Being pushed and shoved by people trying to
Beat the clock, oh, no I just don't know.........

User avatar
lorax
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1316
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:48 pm
Location: Ecuador, USDA Zone 13, at 10,000' of altitude

What about those of us who don't save daylight?

testing, testing.....

User avatar
lorax
Greener Thumb
Posts: 1316
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:48 pm
Location: Ecuador, USDA Zone 13, at 10,000' of altitude

OK, Webmaster or whoever's in control of this feature: phpBB has a feature where you can choose whether or not to adjust for daylight savings. It doesn't seem to be enabled here....

I had to fix my profile, because I'd been time shifted. Ecuador, being as it is at the equator, doesn't do daylight savings. Our days don't vary more than 5 minutes across the year....



Return to “Non-Gardening Related Hoo-ha and Foo”