Anonymous

How to rid a full lawn of Bermuda grass

Hello everyone! I have just bought my first house and am learning how to garden.

My front lawn is covered in gravel, but there is bermuda grass poking through absolutely everywhere. Would covering everything in a layer of plastic under the rock kill the grass? Is that bad for the planet? Please give me all the information that you may have, considering that I am a complete newbie to this. I am looking for a long term solution.

Thanks!

dcpinner
Newly Registered

What's your goal? is the gravel part of your driveway? Are you wanting to get rid of your gravel, or just have gravel there with no grass at all? If you don't want any grass on your gravel, I would just recommend the every day RoundUp....but do NOT spray it where you want grass because RoundUp kills most anything your spray on it.

If you have a different type of grass that you want to keep and it is infested with Bermuda which you would like to get rid of, I can recommend something, but it may be hard to find because it is so selective in what it kills. I use it on my Zoysia lawn when I had some bermuda growing in it.

Dcpinner

Toms92gp

deschamps1000 wrote:Hello everyone! I have just bought my first house and am learning how to garden.

My front lawn is covered in gravel, but there is bermuda grass poking through absolutely everywhere. Would covering everything in a layer of plastic under the rock kill the grass? Is that bad for the planet? Please give me all the information that you may have, considering that I am a complete newbie to this. I am looking for a long term solution.

Thanks!