FoxxyLady01
Newly Registered

In Need of Suggestions for Front Lawn and Garden

Hello Everyone,

My name is Lauren - I am a student at VCU and I'm very much in love with my new house.

My only trepidation is my lawn, and small garden in the front of my house. I don't even know where to begin.

Here are some images you can see on Flickr of my problem:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/39326140@N02/5857254372/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/39326140@N02/5856700147/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/39326140@N02/5857252378/

Could you recommend what I could do to improve the grass I have? And recommend some flowers, and other items to plant in front of my house? I'd love to create something beautiful, but again I don't even know where to begin Sad

Thanks alot!

Lauren :flower:

I like plants

You could do overspread, but that is a little too late I think. You usually do that in May.

You could probably water more and give it some fertiliser that you can get at your local garden centre.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Trim the shrub which is looking weedy and over grown. Keep the lawn well mowed and edged along walk to the house. You'd be amazed how much difference it makes just to keep it really neatened up! I would take out all the grass in front of the fence, which is a pain to mow anyway and put a flower strip there, something that will fill in nicely. Put some flower beds in front of the house (much wider than what is there now).

What direction does your house face and how sunny or shady are those areas? We can make better plant suggestions when we know the sun exposure.

One possibility for the strip in front of the fence would be daylilies. They come in all kinds of wonderful colors/ color combinations:

https://erthturf.com/AllAboutDaylilies.html