84pagirl

can someone please explain permaculture?

Ive been reading alot of the posts but would some one please explain thiss concept to me it seems very interesting.

Toil
Greener Thumb

nope.

but I'd be into you looking it up, and then telling us what you think.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Permaculture, is a big complex topic and I'm not an expert, but I'll give a couple things to start with including places to go to read more There's a nice article in Wikipedia that's a good introduction to the topic, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permaculture Permaculture is organic gardening done consciously for sustainability ("permanent agriculture"). So it's gardening based on natural principles of self-sustaining eco-systems, where your garden community provides all the inputs needed to sustain itself and produces no waste (because it's all used). It's the opposite of mono-culture crop farming with synthetic fertilizers and gigantic machinery run on gasoline power.

One characteristic of permaculture is the emphasis on efficient use of space. One design that is typical of permaculture is the keyhole garden, designed to make a lot of plants easily accessible. Applestar posted an example of hers with pictures here: https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=63042&highlight=keyhole+garden#63042

Planning is essential to this kind of efficiency, you need to know a lot about what kind of plants grow well in your area, what things grow well together, if you put in a trellis (permaculturists do a lot of vertical gardening for efficient use of space), what things would grow well under it, etc etc

Permaculturists put big emphasis on diversity, on including fruits, trees, especially nut trees, on making colonies of plants and animals that work together. And like all the rest of us organic gardeners, big emphasis on building up the soil and making living soil biologies that naturally enhance plant productivity.