psytek
Newly Registered

Start a permaculture garden

Hi

I'm new to the Permaculture world but it does fascinate me a lot! I understood the principle to recreate the condition of the natural environment. I saw some of the beds with cardboard, compost , newspaper and straw ( I don't remember the exact order) , but I was wondering how to start a little garden in my backyard. It is possible? what if I don't find straw? Any starter guide online?

thanks in advance
Roby

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I don't think permaculture is so much an exact recipe for what layers you need to have. It's really a philosophy about sustainable ("permanent") agriculture, a style of gardening that doesn't depend on constant input from the outside, especially input of chemicals/ synthetics.

Here's an article about it:

https://attra.ncat.org/attra-pub/perma.html

I would suggest the beginning place as well as doing some reading would be starting your compost pile. Part of the idea of sustainable gardening is everything is recycled and the "waste" becomes new inputs, which is COMPOST.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Very good link RG.

It's a pretty tall order to start from nothing and go to a "permaculture garden". Do you want an organic garden, flower beds, native grasses, trees, flowers? Are you going to raise animals, collect rainwater?

What is your main objective? Though I'm no expert by any means someone like rainbowgardener might need a little push to help you better.

psytek
Newly Registered

Hi guys

thanks for the reply! I just would like to grow veg and herbs to use in my kitchen, I love the idea of the permaculture where everything is linked but I have zero experience with gardening nor permaculture. I do agree thou that the first step is actually the compost but I would like to know if I can do something more during the year the compost will take to be ready :)

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb