alemania
Newly Registered

Purple leaves on endless summer hydrangea

Hi!

I purchased 2 endless summer hydrangeas from HD last year. Last year, the leaves turned purple and the blooms were never really full. This year, I had my landscaper (just did the backyard; new construction home) move them to another spot that gets morning sun and afternoon shade. The leaves still turned purple and the blooms are still not full. The PH of the soil is about 7. I'm located in Oregon (zone 8b) and, because of the new construction, the soil is clay although my landscaper put in about 2" of top soil.

I've read that purple leaves could be due to leaf spot or phosphorus deficiency but I'm not experienced enough to know which one this is. I will need to move the plant at some point because it's not situated in a good location, but I'm wondering if I should just start anew instead of transplanting the plant.

Thanks!
Attachments
MVIMG_20180704_123202s.jpg

luis_pr
Greener Thumb

Hello, alemania. I cannot speak for all the occurrences of purple leaves that you mentioned since there is only one picture so, these comments only apply to that one instance. But hopefully it applies to them all.

What you are displaying in the picture is normal leaf colors that can occur at the end of the growing season -when chlorophyll production tapers off- so good luck to you, no phosphorus issues there.

Hydrangea foliage can turn various colors in the late Summer and early Fall. It is a function of your geographical location, how strong your sun is, minerals in the soil, the type of hydrangea, amount of pigments that have developed in the leaf, etc.

That head turning type of purple foliage effect is a superb example of what you can see with most H. quercifolias (aka, oakleaf hydrangeas) and a few others. And this is not limited to oakleafs; some mopheads and lacecaps can also put nice displays as well.... but not many.