brian

will hydrangea grow in partial shade

I have a trellis on the front of my house and it faces north so it doesn't get a lot of direct sun. I have been trying to find something that will climb the trellis and be flowering. There is also a dogwood and two cedars in close proximity to where the trellis is located so that might affect the soil , I don't know I am a rookie. Any suggestions for a plant that will be successfull in this environment would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance :D

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

It sounds like a very shaded area and to be honest I've only seen hydrangea growing in well lit spots.

Are there any hydrangea experts out there? Any advice is always welcome.

brian

Thanks for replying :D

Gardenmom
Cool Member

Hydrangeas have to have some sun to flower, even if it's dappled light through the trees. Mine get a little morning light through the branches of a white birch tree and our house faces East (they're along the front of the house). I'm not sure what zone you're in - I'm in 10(a or b?) and we have many homes that face north with big billowing hydrangeas in the front yard. I think it's possible given good, rich soil and plenty of water. They'll droop a litte on really hot days.

daisee
Newly Registered

Here is one that will grow in partial shade.

https://www.taunton.com/finegardening/plantguide/hydrangea-macrophylla-bigleaf-hydrangea.aspx

brian

Thanks for the link, they are beautifull, wil they climb a trellis and if so what amount of growth should I expect per season depending on the conditions. :D

daisee
Newly Registered

Hmmm, I don't know. It says moderate grower on that web site. Here are some more:

https://www.taunton.com/finegardening/plantguide/genus/hydrangea.aspx