davidchanty
Newly Registered

Help, is my new hydrangea dead?

Hi,
I'm new to this forum and newbie for gardening. This is my first time planting hydrangea. I leave in Boston area. I brought a 3 Gal blue hydrangea from a local garden store and planted under my big blackberry tree. The spot has a lot of sun in the early morning, and is total under the shadow in the afternoon. The plant looks great in the first 2 days, then the flower looks dead in the next afternoon. After that, the leaf does not look healthy at all. I watering 3 times per day only one min each time. I don't know what went wrong.

BTW, this is my first time buying from this highly rated local gardening store (not much choice in my town, either this or Home Depot). I also brought 2 other small plants together, they start showing the same problem. Is it the problem from transplant or how the store kept the flowers?

I attached the pictures I took this morning.
Thanks for any advice.
David the new gardener
Attachments
IMG_0779.JPG
IMG_0778.JPG

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

No probably not dead (yet). I think the wilting is probably a combination of transplant shock (common when plants are uprooted from one spot and moved to another spot, where they don't have roots out into the soil yet) and under watering.

Watering 1 minute three times a day sounds all wrong to me. That kind of watering encourages lots of shallow surface roots that readily dry out again. I suggest you start by watering the same one minute you have been doing. Then get your trowel out and dig down a little. See how deep the soil has been moistened. I'd be surprised if it was much more than an inch. What you want to be doing is deep watering less frequently, to encourage deeper rooting. Do your one minute of watering, let the water soak in for a minute and then repeat twice more. Now dig down and see how deep the soil is moistened. You want moist soil at least 4 - 6" down.