Cassbot
Newly Registered

Novice gardener in the process of killing a hydrangea

Hi everyone,

Thanks so much for taking a look at my question!

I am new to gardening and this site, so sorry if I make any etiquette mistakes (and do let me know I have!)

I planted a hydrangea bush ~3 weeks ago. It was healthy when planted but has since become increasingly sad.

I live in downtown DC, and the native soil is a dense clay. We dug that out (but maybe not deeply enough) and put in a mix of organic potting soil, compost and worm casings.

When it was planted we were going through a crazy rain spell (we set records - 16 days basically straight). The leaves were wilting and many had black spots on them. From looking at online forums I thought this might be due to overwatering, so once the sun finally decided to return I watered it less frequently than the rest of the garden.

It temporarily perked up, and the black spots are gone, but it has since gone back to wilting. I've read a lot of conflicting thoughts in online forums that I have looked at (soil still wet, although it feels dry now, too much sun?). Any thoughts on how to help it feel better are much appreciated!
Attachments
20160612_134412.jpg
20160612_134352.jpg

Algida

If in direct sunlight, try moving it in a spot with partial shade, or even shade, if temperatures too high during summer. Don't let the soil to dry between waterings. Dig a deeper and larger hole when replanting it.

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

Agree with Algida. I personally think that it isn't watered enough. The leaves look dehydrated.

Cassbot
Newly Registered

Thanks so much Algida and Annalkona! I will definitely up the water. It's been very hot the past week so it might be getting too much sun too, unfortunately I don't have anywhere to move it to that gets less light but I can try sticking a lawn chair in front of it to give it some cover!

luis_pr
Greener Thumb