Eagerangel
Newly Registered

Dark brown coloration around nodes of hydrangea

Hi, I am pretty new to gardening and I live here in the Philippines. We bought a hydrangea plant with one blooming head to be grown indoors. It is ok for a few weeks then the blooms starts to dry, and the remaining leaves started to dry out as well.

I noticed that there are buds of new leaves growing so I removed the dried blooms and leaves. After a few days, the new leaves started to turn brown and dry as well.

Now, there are dark brown coloration around the nodes where the old leaves were located. Also, there are white powdery substance on the node where the old leaves were from.

I did some research, and I thought that it is root rot. I checked the roots, and it seemed okay. I even found an earthworm in the soil (which I think is a good thing). But, I still repotted the plant with a new batch of potting soil.

Now, I am left with a single stem of hydrangea with very small buds of leaves, and seems like, a rotting tip.

Is there something that I can do to save this plant? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Attachments
IMG_20160115_191632.jpg
IMG_20160115_191653.jpg
IMG_20160115_191547.jpg

luis_pr
Greener Thumb

Hello, Alvin. Since you were concerned about too much soil moisture, enough to think it was root rot, I would keep the soil moisture under observation but, maybe it is not root rot.

Help me determine your winter time; is it winter?... If it is perhaps the hydrangea (aka, milfores and hortensias) may have normally shut down for winter thus drying/dropping the blooms, drying/browning out leaves and having some stem color changes.

During a typical US winter shutdown, some color changes occur on the stem as it hardens. These stem color changes go from green to darker greens to sand-like colors and on to shades of brown; note that the exact sequence varies from one hydrangea variety to another.