kfelton0002

Hydrangeas and sun

Hello I am new to the forum. I will post on the introduction board as soon as I get a free minute but I am due to leave for work in a little bit. Firstly let me start off by saying I am new to growing anything. This year was my first attempt at planting anything so I am learning. I have been lusting after the Endless Summer line of hydrangeas for at least a month now. After ordering a 1.5 gallon original ES online because none of the stores around me had them in stock, I found a nursery where I bought a large 3 gallon one as well. The large plant is doing beautifully in its little shady spot by my porch, however the smaller one is not doing so good. It arrived in poor shape to begin with. My mail man put the package in my vehicle (we gave him permission to do that for our packages) and without me knowing it sat in the vehicle in 80 degree heat for half the day before I found it. It had several brown leaves upon removing it from the packaging so I watered it and planted it the following day. The area that I planted it in gets full morning sun, and what I thought was evening shade. I did notice today that the shade doesn't move in until around 2pm or so. From 2pm on it is in full shade. Is this okay for my hydrangea or does it need to be moved? It just doesn't look happy. I don't know if it is still suffering from the damage of sitting in the heated vehicle but when I came out to check on it today it has several more brown leaves. I have another type of hydrangea there as well called Red Sensation and it's directions said and I quote "Full sun/Full shade." It is newly planted as well and has a few brownish looking leaves but it looks healthier than the endless summer. I live in Kentucky so I think I am in area 6b if I'm not mistaken. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I just want big lush hydrangea plants but I have limited shady areas in my planting beds. Will they be okay there with some TLC to get them started? Thanks in advan