twittel

Deadhead Hydrangea

I searched the hydrangea forum, but couldn't find discussion as to whether or not I should deadhead spent hydrangea blooms. I have a Nikko Blue hydrangea which I think is a fairly common variety. Since I'm new to hydrangae, I'm wanting to deadhead spent blooms, to promote a late season bloom as well as make the bush more presentable.

I don't want to prune the bush, only to deadhead the blooms. Your advice is appreciated.

msalcido

Hi Twittel,
I dead head my hydrangeas once they are brown. Be careful as to where you do it though because you want to make sure you are not cutting off any potential new wood growth where buds maybe forming. I do it right at the base of the dead bloom. I do not believe that NB will rebloom during the season. I have read that the only ones that bloom again (and that dead heading encourages blooms) is on the Endless Summer series.

I have a NB and have only dead headed one of the blooms as the others are still changing colors. Most people leave them on to enjoy the change of colors.

Hope this helps a bit.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Most woody plants, including hydrangeas, do not rebloom whether or not they are deadheaded. (Except as msalcido noted for varieties that have been specially bred to rebloom.) Most people leave the flowers on their hydrangeas, considering the seed heads which stay on all winter to be ornamental, providing winter interest.

Here's someone's winter garden picture with hydrangea:

[url=https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https://viette.indigofiles.com/photo_gallery/december/WinterGardenHydrangea.jpg&imgrefurl=https://www.viette.com/v.php%3Fpg%3D468&h=453&w=600&sz=414&tbnid=0AgVXtrspaS7HM:&tbnh=98&tbnw=130&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dwinter%2Bhydrangea%2Bphoto%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=winter+hydrangea+photo&usg=__18lVSbK_L8DGcIo8xCHT7NWP2r4=&sa=X&ei=TicgTojBOofagQeLgaHkBQ&ved=0CCIQ9QEwAw&dur=3120]winter hydrangea[/url]