TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

Something's eating my basil and making me mad.

I think it's mice. I inspected the plants and saw no bugs, just a bunch of poop. That's disgusting, I don't want to eat something a mouse crawled on, licked on and pooped on!! I HATE mice!! :evil:

What safe thing can I spray on my basil that will deter the mice, but will wash off easy when ready to eat it?
Or should I go ahead and pick what's left of my basil? Can you freeze basil?
Attachments
IMG_20200703_091056.jpg
IMG_20200703_091116.jpg

TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

Anyone, please? Does this look like mouse poop?

applestar
Mod

I think they look like treefrog poop. They are probably EATING whatever it is that are eating the basil — probably slugs or armyworms?

Gary350
Super Green Thumb

I am no poop expert but mouse poop is shaped like grains of rice. The poop in your picture is pointed on both ends. I don't think a mouse can climb a basil leaf without leaving claw marks they climb like cats. Maybe different breads of mice have different shape poop. I spilled corn on the garage floor mice left many grains of black rice. I put seeds very high up on shelves mice had no trouble eating them too & more black rice with round ends.
Last edited by Gary350 on Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

!potatoes!
Greener Thumb

I doubt mice. they'd have to be sitting on the leaf to drop so much poop on it, and they're small, but not that small. the actual damage suggests chewing invertebrates, whether slugs or insects.

TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

As a matter of fact, I have been seeing another outbreak of armyworms, but I know that's not their poop. Well if it's not nice, then I'm guessing it might be grasshopper or crickets.