Akhnaten

Indoor cilantro challenge

Hi! This is my second post on this forum. (My first being in the intro subforum.)

This is a bit of a story. Short version: after getting cilantro to grow beautifully on my balcony in a self-watering planter in the summer, I have brought the planter indoors and bought LED grow lights. Now I'm trying to grow a new batch of cilantro alongside a basil and chili plants and am having some difficulty getting them to grow past a rather pathetic stunted stage...as well as other issues with the whole setup.

Longer story: This summer I decided all of a sudden to get into herb gardening after many years of plantlessness. So I am a beginner. I have an ulterior motive -- I love cilantro and it's hard to find in Sweden (at a reasonable price/quantity ratio) without going to Asian supermarkets which are a bit of a trip from my apartment.

Anyway, just before the peak of summer, I bought an 80cm x 20 cm (sorry this is Europe, metricland) self-watering balcony planter. It's the kind with a reservoir on the bottom separated from the soil by a floor with "slits" so presumably the water can get up through the soil. It has a water level measuring stick and a portal above the soil through which one can add water.

I filled it with potting soil from the supermarket and planted coriander, alongside basil and chili as "side-projects", in sections in the same planter and put it out on my balcony, which gets a reasonable amount of sun even though there's some building shadow. The coriander came up splendidly. The basil started but was rather slow, and the chili very reluctant although a couple of plants came up. I used 14-14-14 liquid fertilizer, adding 1 "capful" per liter of water (as the instructions on the bottle), when I topped up the reservoir (ie, I added the fertilizer to the reservoir along with water). Again, for the main purpose, it worked splendidly.