wannabe_gardener
Newly Registered

Newbie here! How to get most out of herb garden?

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie here with strong interest in growing my own herb gerden. I am looking to start on a small scale (to see how it goes before spending too much and failing). I want to grow some herbs which grow fast (relatively), and which produce enough that I can use them in my kitchen.

My preference would be to start with container plants because I can then move them in and out depending on weather outside.

Also, not sure if it matters or not, but I live in Houston!

Appreciate your inputs!

puzzlejunky
Cool Member

Chives are pretty easy and hardy. If you like tea I've had a lot of luck with lemon balm. Basil germinates pretty easily...but it looks like lots of folks here are having problems with it. Nothing beats homemade pesto sauce though!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

remember that wannabe is in Houston. Way different climate from Penna and actually kind of difficult for herbs. Lots of herbs do fine with hot and dry, but Houston is warm and humid with 50 " of rain a year.

Basil is a good one for that climate and very easy to grow in containers. The trouble people have been having with it is a disease called basil downy mildew, relatively newly imported fungal disease. Wannabe, you should ask around, like at garden stores, see if people in your area have been having trouble with it. If so, focus on some of the more resistant varieties like red and purple basils, lemon and lime basil, spice basil.

Other possibilities include Mexican tarragon (also called Mexican mint marigold), Mexican oregano which is actually native to TX and an ingredient in a classic TX chili, mints, and chives, All would be fine in containers, just be sure your container mix is very well draining -- consider mixing potting soil with sand or cactus mix to improve drainage.

wannabe_gardener
Newly Registered

Thanks for your responses guys.