jaymine
Newly Registered

What is wrong with my basil?

I'm new to gardening, and have been searching and searching as to what might be wrong with my basil.
20150402_070411.jpg
20150405_134917.jpg
None of the mold, wilt, mite pictures I've seen seem to be the same. The stems of the plant are very healthy. I have begun to notice that just before it starts to brown as in the second picture, parts of the leaves look shiny, as if raw, maybe? Not all of the leaves have it, and some plants have seemed to hold off longer than others, but now most of the leaves are showing varying degrees of symptoms.

I have pretty good eyes, so if it's a bug thing, I don't believe they're present (at least all of the time). Damage seems to be occuring quickly, I'll inspect leaves, and a few hours later, the shiny parts have started to happen, or wilt around the outside. I'm at a complete loss.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

What do the under sides of the leaves look like? Your pictures get blurry when enlarged. Does the damage seem to be in little dots?

https://blogs.extension.org/mastergarden ... mildew.png

that is underside of the leaf showing basil downy mildew. It is a disease of basil that is getting a lot more common and is unfortunately deadly.

The top sides of the leaves won't show the little dots, just yellowed sections bounded by leaf veins, since the d.m. pathogen can't grow past major veins.

You didn't say where you are. So far, I think this disease is mainly confined to the eastern part of the country, from MA down to FL.

jaymine
Newly Registered

Thanks for your response!

The undersides show nothing different than what is reflected on the topside: wilted, brown areas (or 'shiny' parts, right before they start to brown). I don't have a good picture with me as I'm not at home, but I can provide one later if needed. There is certainly nothing like the picture you posted.