bdragule
Newly Registered

Rosemary is not growing into a dense bush.

Hi everyone, first of all, I want to state that I'm a complete newbie with gardening right now, so take it slow please. :)

We planted this rosemary plant about 3 years ago, and while it's grown quite a bit, it's grown into tall, gangly branches that are thick with large leaves (Fig. 1). What we'd like to have is a rosemary bush that is dense and shapeable, with more delicate leaves and stems suitable for cooking (Fig. 2).

Are we just using the wrong species? What should I be looking for? Is there anything I should be doing while the plant is growing to make it split off into more stems, thereby making it more dense?

Thanks folks!
Attachments
Our plant (Fig. 1) vs. what we want (Fig. 2).
Our plant (Fig. 1) vs. what we want (Fig. 2).
IMG_3089.JPG (51.72 KiB) Viewed 3082 times

Demosouthpaw
Cool Member

bdragule wrote:Hi everyone, first of all, I want to state that I'm a complete newbie with gardening right now, so take it slow please. :)

We planted this rosemary plant about 3 years ago, and while it's grown quite a bit, it's grown into tall, gangly branches that are thick with large leaves (Fig. 1). What we'd like to have is a rosemary bush that is dense and shapeable, with more delicate leaves and stems suitable for cooking (Fig. 2).

Are we just using the wrong species? What should I be looking for? Is there anything I should be doing while the plant is growing to make it split off into more stems, thereby making it more dense?

Thanks folks!
Hey buddy,