gunsmokex
Cool Member

Fennel does it really kill everything?

I had a question on fennel. This is my first year gardening and I guess I didn't quite realize that it kills everything its near :(

I planted it near my asparagus and so far the asparagus looks just fine, there are even new shoots coming up from the asparagus but I only planted the fennel there about 5 days ago.

Does anyone have any experience with fennel?

Thanks,
Justin

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I am in California visiting my son. He has a tiny city lot with a couple of small raised beds. One has a big fennel plant surrounded by kale chard & other stuff. Everything is growing like crazy all crowded together. The kale is so close to the fennel their leaves are touching.

valley
Greener Thumb
Location: ranches in sierra nevada mountains California & Navada high desert

Fennel is a good neighbour, it also can be used to flavour Oghi, if you have a still.

Richard

imafan26
Mod

Fennel does not kill everything near it. It actually benefits all plants in the garden by attracting all sorts of beneficial insects like lady bugs, hover flies, parasitic wasps, tachinid flies, lacewings, minute pirate and big eye bugs. It even repels fleas.

However, fennel is not a good neighbor to all plants. Fennel does not like to be near any of its parsley relatives, coriander or dill. Fennel gets along with some plants and do not seem to bother them. Horseradish, ginger, gynuura (cholesterol spinach), aren't phased, but then those plants are pretty much bullet proof.