DuaneBarry
Newly Registered

Growing mint

Hello fellow gardeners,

I'm new at gardening and trying to grow mint is my first experience ever. I transplanted two small mint seedlings to a vase and I'm trying to grow it at home. I've a small apartment in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. Unfortunately, there's no balcony or anything like that, but I've plenty of sunlight in the morning. So I keep the vase near the window and hope for the best.

The seedlings I transplanted had some black leaves and branches which I figured were from the plant not getting any water for the whole day in which they were bought. I trimmed some of the black leaves before transplanting, but not all. The vase I transplanted them to has one layer of expanded clay, one layer of sand and one layer of fertilized black dirt.

Now, about a week after being transplanted, they still have some black leaves. They look dehydrated, burnt even. I've no idea what that could be and if it's harmful to the healthy leaves. I've one hypothesis, though: when everybody's out of the apartment, the windows usually stay completely shut and it gets very hot inside, almost like a greenhouse. Could that cause the black dehydrated leaves?

Also, this morning when I was watering I noticed that whenever I watered or turned the dirt, some very small, almost microscopical, translucid, fly-like insects would come out of the dirt. And although they had small wings, they wouldn't fly, but would run very fast to find a place to hide. Do you guys have any idea of what they could be? And are they harmful to plants or human beings?

I'm sorry for the long text. Any response will be greatly appreciated.

PS: Here's a photo of the black leaves.

[img]https://img31.imageshack.us/img31/4678/foto0007pn.jpg[/img]

GardenRN
Greener Thumb