sjv
Newly Registered

Lemon Verbena

Hello. I recently purchased a 4" pot Lemon Verbena plant. It was very healthy until I brought it home. Within 2-3 weeks of transferring it to a terracotta pot (not too big or small for it's size) it has developed blotches in it's leaves; tiny green insects (I suspect they are spider-mites) have appeared on some of the delicate stems and the tiny buds that were forming at the top of the plant have withered away and died. Also, the terracotta pot has circles of white furry mold growing on the outside! I kept the plant in my kitchen which is warm but does not have direct sunlight. Today, I put the pot outside hoping that the blotches and mites might disappear!

What on earth has happened? The garden centre fellow told me not to over water it so I have done exactly that. I have been desperate to grow this plant ever since it was introduced to me last year. I am an absolte novice to anything green and gardening and would be grateful for simple and straight-forward advice on what I should do to save my plant.

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

The insects are likely aphids, as spider mites are reddish brown and almost too small to see. They also cover the leaves in very fine silk that can be seen when looking at the leaf at the right angle in good enough light.