endrien
Newly Registered

Help with my indoor herbs?

This is my first time growing anything, so I'm not really sure what I'm doing. I'm using a jiffy 25 peat pellet greenhouse with dill, cilantro, basil, parsley and chives. None of the parsley have sprouted and its been a few weeks. Most everything else has sprouted. I have them growing in my bedroom, they are not getting direct sunlight(I'm thinking of getting a florescent bulb as they will not be moving out doors at any point).
How often should I be watering these plants? Should I trim them to 1 per pellet? When should I move them to separate bigger pots? Should I take the top off? Why hasn't the parsley sprouted? A few seem to not be doing so well, so I figured I would ask for some help :).
Any help and suggestions are appreciated.
Here is a picture of the herbs:
https://i55.tinypic.com/2s63ept.jpg

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Not looking so good.... they definitely need MORE LIGHT. Get that fluorescent bulb you were talking about.

Personally I hate the peat pots. They hold too much moisture, keeping everything too wet and then when they start drying out, they suck moisture away from the soil.

To start with, since you have things growing in the peat pots, I'd start by getting another tray and spreading them out more, so there is air circulation around the pots.

Don't try moving/ transplanting any little seedlings until they have at least one, preferably two pairs of true leaves (the first leaves that appear are the cotyledons/ seed leaves, usually differently shaped than the true leaves).