GroovyGran
Newly Registered

No luck with Herbs

Hi, I am new to the forum and could use some advice about growing herbs.
I have bought herbs about 5 times now, growing in there pots from our local supermarket. But every time they just die on me.
I have tried them on two different windowsills in my kitchen and have just bought some more which I have planted in there own pot and put outside in the sunniest part of the garden (We don't get much sun here in the UK)
I have bought flat leaf parsley, mint, chives and basil.
They just seem to go limp on me and die. The parsley always seems to break off at soil level.
any tips would be welcome.

Linda :?

Ted M
Newly Registered

Groovy, I am new to herbs as well, I have grown everything but herbs.

I have just started all my new herbs in pots, basil, chives, rosemarry and I have figured out that at least where I live the grocery store herbs do not grow. I know they come in some dirt wrapped in plastic, but I have had no luck in keeping them alive. Now the herbs I buy from the big box stores are doing great. It took me a while to figure out soil drainage and watering for each plant, but everything is going good so far...

GeorgiaGirl

I used to be mystified that all my herbs died too. I figured out that my problems were:

1. Trying to grow them in the plastic pots they came in. They usually need to be transplanted into larger pots or they will become root-bound and die. I recently discovered that my basil has roots nearly a foot long... no wonder those roots became tangled and circled over themselves in a tiny 4" pot!

2. Not giving them enough sun. I've lived in England before so I know the lack-of-sunshine problem, but if they're now in the sunniest part of your garden, they should have enough sun to live.