Gissela

Basil: More water, not enough water. What do you think?

I am NEW to gardening and got a Sweet Basil plant. It is struggling. I read somewhere that it needs lots of sun and water, but I found some other site with the opposite info about the water. Also, something is chewing on it. Here is a picture, hope you can help
[url=https://img44.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0285.jpg][img]https://img44.imageshack.us/img44/2513/img0285.th.jpg[/img][/url]

frangypangy

Hi there!
I am relatively new to gardening myself, but I fortunately have had much success w/ my basil. I live in South Florida, and I have all of my basil plants in full sun. As far as the watering goes, my rule of thumb has been that I water whenever my soil looks like its starting to lose moisture (which, since its very warm in South Florida and they are in full sun, pretty much amounts to every morning). I don't wait for the soil to dry out completely, I just base it pretty much on if the surface soil looks pretty dry, I usually stick a toothpick in about an inch to be sure the underneath soil is still slightly damp, but not completely saturated.

Another piece of advice that I would like to share is you might want to cut your plant down a bit. My dad taught me that if you want to avoid your plant looking too branchy with not a lot of leaves, the trick is to keep trimming it down bit by bit, which has worked famously for my plants. Plus, u can take the clippings and put them in water and they will eventually grow their own roots and "voila" you have another basil plant! I started w/ 1 one basil plant, and w/ clippings alone I now have 8 plants, all doing great! The only problem I have is exactly what u were saying about a critter eating holes in them... I saw a little beetle like creature on it, so I am thinking its either that or snails.