charlotteann1
Newly Registered

Garden in the Swiss Alps

Hi, I am English but live in a Swiss ski resort at 1300 metres and we have recently inherited a big garden and I have never done any gardening before! It has some beautiful big ferns, forest and lots of bushes and plants that I don't recognise. The garden has just thawed from the snow and a lot of the ground is covered in squashed plants, pine needles, and grasses, and it has loads of rocks that are covered in moss and are buried - we inherited it from someone who had died so it has been neglected for the last 18 months. I am going to try to clear the grounds of all the mush and moss as best I can, but I need some advice about what to plant when I have some nice clear soil. I am going to start with an area around the fir trees where the soil seems quite 'mulchy'. Does anyone know anything about bushes or plants that thrive at this altitude and that will survive both the heat and lack of humidity in the summer, and 4 months of being covered in snow? How about roses and rhododendrons? What about smaller flowers and things like herbs and heather? Many thanks :)

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

We need the US Colorado gardeners!

I'm a bit further north, Charlotte Ann. However, the lower elevation here (about half yours) means I'm not faced with quite the same challenges.

Rhododendrons are often lost through our winters. A temperature of -20C seems really hard on them. There are some azalea hybrids that are very popular.

Mahonia grows wild here, as does Amelanchier. Roses too, but they are NOT the rose species we usually find in gardens. Except for some climbing/rambling varieties, I don't see many prospering, especially not the hybrid teas. Another wild shrub is Philadelphus lewisii.

Lilacs. They must have broad adaptability.

Now, we need some ideas from higher elevation gardeners!

Steve

Mr green
Green Thumb