Moefroe09
Newly Registered

Fukien tea tree in the last frontier

I am new to bonsai and my niece gave me a beautiful Fukien tea tree which I fear is sick. It was flourishing over the summer, loving all the sun we get here in Alaska and now as our daylight dwindles and the temp is dropping it doesn't seem so happy. I have been watering it regularly and fertilize with organic fish meal, but it still seems unhappy, help me please. I don't want to lose it!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

A picture would help. In what way does it seem unhappy? Dropping leaves? Yellowing? Anything else?

I assume it is indoors. Was it outdoors for the summer? How much light is it getting now that the days are getting shorter? You saw that it likes a lot of light. If you don't have a good south facing window that gets a lot of light, you may need to give it supplemental lighting - which would be a lamp dedicated to it, that shines on it from just a few inches away.

Moefroe09
Newly Registered

[img]
Fukien tea tree, looking a bit sad
Fukien tea tree, looking a bit sad
[/img]

It's leaves are yellowing a bit and drooping, the pre-existing buds are browning, and I haven't seen any new growth. This past summer was the wettest on record so I kept it inside in a huge bay window facing south, it still faces south but on a table away from the cold window.

During our summer months it was getting anywhere between 15 to 20 hours of daylight and since we loose light rapidly after the solstice the hours of daylight have decreased to about 10 per day.

I hope the picture helps diagnose the problem and thank you!

imafan26
Mod

Fukien tea is a weed for me, but yours does look pretty sickly. It actually looks like it is too wet.

You should be watering the plant in the tub or sink and let it drip dry and do not leave any water in the saucer. The soil also does not look like bonsai soil. What are you using?

Moefroe09
Newly Registered