jeremyeliosoff
Newly Registered

Self-watering wind-protected rain-fed rooftop tomato planter design.

Hello,

I'm a novice gardener making my first attempt at growing tomatoes in my condo. I live in Montreal, Canada, where the growing season is approximately April to October. I've already begun growing tomatoes on my balcony, but the space is limited so I want to migrate some of them to my rootop.

My roof has pros and cons as a gardening site:

pro:
lots of sunlight (around 9 hrs)
lots of space

con:

very windy
awkward to access (ladder through trapdoor), esp when transporting materials, including water

I work in computer animation and have used 3d software to design a planter setup that is intended to do the following things:

PROTECT THE PLANTS FROM WIND

The tomatoes are grown horizontally along stakes elevated 1' from the ground and surrounded by panels made of corrugated transparent plastic mounted on wooden frames. These panels block the wind but let the sun in.

COLLECT RAINWATER

Next to the box that contains the soil, rainwater is collected in a tray made of a wooden frame covered by a tarp (brown). This is in turn covered by another tarp (blue) that is suspended over the collection tray to prevent evaporation, and slanted to prevent water buildup. NOT SHOWN (because it's difficult to model): the blue tarp comes down on the sides and tucks into the tray, so there is no opening for the water to evaporate. Water runs off the blue tarp and collects in the tray. Note that there is also a ramp (support for ramp not shown) that drains into the tray, but I'm not sure if I'll use that in the end because it might be difficult to pin it down and prevent it from being blown away.

"SELF-WATER" THE PLANTS, IE. WICK THE COLLECTED RAIN INTO THE SOIL

An absorbant fabric (pink) - perhaps a towel - wicks water from the collection tray to the soil box, ensuring that the soil is always moist.