munineye
Newly Registered

Suggestions for Container Herb & Vegetable Garden

So I'm new to gardening, really, having not raised much before (besides simple things like rosemary and killing a few basil plants).

However, I'm planning on starting a few containers on our back patio. I already know how some of these things grow, so really I'm looking for whether any of this is practical.

First, a lemon tree. I'm in Nashville, and the winters do get cold. However, I plan on putting the pot on a small dolly so it can be brought indoors once it gets cold out. However, the book I have doesn't say what kind of sunlight the lemon tree needs. Any suggestions?

Second, a large combination pot with tomatoes in the center and basil around the rim. I've been noticing that basil is an annual and may be best suited to a sunny windowsill rather than the sometimes chilly outdoors. By being an annual, this does mean it has to be replanted every year, correct? (Like I said, I'm quite new at this.) Also, I've been reading that tomato is a very demanding plant and takes a lot out of its soil. Any suggestions?

Third, a few hanging boxes from the patio railing. These will be standard herbs for cooking and teas. I've been looking at soil considerations for each type and it looks like sage, thyme and bay will go together well, and marjoram, oregano, and chamomile will as well. Mint will go in its own pot, as I've been reading that it sort of takes over things. Rosemary will be in a large pot on the porch, as it also tends to take over the world. (Good thing I cook with it as often as I can.)

Any suggestions or does this sound like a fair beginning to a container-based herb and vegetable garden? I don't plan on including any flowers unless they're edible, by the way. This is strictly for cooking purposes. All of the plants mentioned here will be coming from a little nursery nearby as seedlings or larger, ready to plant in their pots.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

munineye,