SPierce
Greener Thumb

Orchid Care: Do I need to repot? What about wrapped roots?

Not sure if this is the best spot, but thought I'd give it a try!

Long story short, I bought a smallish Orchid from the grocery store 2 months or so ago. It's my first time trying one, and it seems to be very happy- and is growing faster than I can keep with it (new roots, new leaves). So now that I haven't yet murdered it, I need to find out sone info re:care. I tried googling but perhaps I'm missing the answer...?

1- when I bought it, the substrate material with the roots, etc were wrapped and packaged in what I can only call a soft, tight plastic wrapping? I still currently have it in this tiny package, but am I hurting the plant by leaving it there? If it's something that needs to come off I'd rather do so before the new roots really take root

2- since the plant is tiny, will it always stay this small...? Not sure if I will need to uppot it or anticipate anything

3- if I do need to move it to a new pot ( with drainage ) or get it new substrate whats the best way to do so without stressing out the plant? I read that eventually the material breaks down and needs to be replaced, and I almost feel like its at that point since the material looks like sand, but I'm not sure.

imafan26
Mod

The plastic wrap usually tape should be removed the growers put the tape on to keep the plants moister longer and to keep the plant from falling out of the pot when it is moved.

Can you post a picture of the orchid?