King
Newly Registered

Need help with my Lemon Verbena

Hi, I'm very new to gardening and even newer to these forums.

Not to long ago my friend being the beautiful human-being that he is gave me one of his Lemon Verbena plants. I mostly use it's leaves for cooking and tea so I was thrilled to have one of my own. I live in an apartment so I have a bit of a potted garden on my balcony. The largest pot of which holds my Lemon verbena, it's quite large, maybe three and a half feet tall?

Here's some pictures: https://imgur.com/a/LjMEf

Recently it's been getting a lot of dry patches and the leaves have been drooping quite a bit. I got worried because it wasn't getting enough sun, and most of the research says they love sun. Yesterday I moved it into the sunniest spot I could, and I hope that'll help it out, but I'm worried it might also be the soil.

Everyone says it needs to be well drained, but I'm not really in a position to pick and choose soil options. I mostly have dry dirt from my area, or what appears to be more rich dirt from my in-law's. Given the choices I opted for the good stuff, but I mixed it through with a lot of long since dead leaves and grass from their backyard as well to try to make the soil a bit more hospitable for it.

I don't really know anything about fertilizer, but I hear these plants love the stuff. Oh, also it's quite windy on my balcony, and I live in Australia Sydney area; so it doesn't really get that cold here. I'd really appreciate any and all advice that can be given in how to care for this plant as I really want it to do well, and really have very little idea as to what I'm doing.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Yes, your verbena is not doing very well. It should be a lot bushier: