bogiefidget
Newly Registered

Too much Magnesium in Tomatoes

Hi I live in zone 7 and this is my first attempt at gardening . My husband and I have put in raised garden beds and containers that have our tomatoes and peppers. I had used a dirt mix of top soil, garden mix and a little manure. Everything has been going really well until I read somewhere that tomatoes and peppers lack Magnesium and that I could that by putting a little Epson salt into the dirt and with this I added a little more cow manure just last week. Now my tomato plants look wilted and have some discolored leaves on the bottom but I also have lots of blooms and some small tomatoes. So I don't know if I have hurt them that they won't come back to there big bushy plants that they were or if I have hurt them so bad that they can't recover. Please help this greenhorn gardener. :?

imafan26
Mod

https://nmsp.cals.cornell.edu/publicatio ... heet59.pdf

Too little magnesium is rare especially if you are using manure. Only a small amount is needed.

yellowing on bottom leaves and chlorosis are symptoms of magnesium deficiency, but other micro deficiencies can be a cause as well. Zinc, chloride, viruses and the natural aging proccess can do the same. Nitrogen deficiency will show up on the lower leaves first.

Wilted leaves on the bottom is more likely a problem with late blight or heat stress.
https://www.longislandhort.cornell.edu/v ... o.htm#heat

If you see blossom end rot on the tomatoes, it is probably water stress that is causing the wilting. Wilting will also occur in the middle of the day.