Kermieterp

Adding composted manure for growing corn in containers

I have composted chicken and steer manure I am planning on using as a side dressing for my corn plants. My question is how much would I use for a 20" diameter pot? Do I just place it on top of the soil or do I mix it in?? Is this even something I should be doing? My corn plants look droopy and thin..... Is this good for my other plants? (cucumber, strawberry, onions)

Sorry for the unending questions! I am concerned because this is my first attempt at gardening and I want to learn as much as possible!

Kermieterp

Well, after a hundred views and no replys, I went ahead and put the manure on my plants. I mixed equal parts aged chicken and steer manure, dug a trench around my plants, placed the manure, then covered it up again. I also watered and we will cross our fingers I don't kill anything. I only used about a cup and a half for each 20" container. I will do this again in about a week......

if anyone has any suggestions, I welcome them!!!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Sorry you didn't get a response. Things to watch out for now that you added it : Manure, even composted, is notorious for adding weed seeds to the garden. The nitrogen in composted manure will be primarily in stable organic forms and first year release rates will be significantly less than with fresh manure. In soils low in organic content, this can lead to a nitrogen deficiency unless an additional quick release nitrogen source is supplemented.

I don't use manure at all myself, so I don't really know a lot about it. But 1.5 cups per container seems like plenty and I don't recommend adding more in a week. The plants won't even be getting the benefit of what you did add by that time and you can over do manure.

But how many corn plants did you put per 20" container and how many such containers do you have?

Kermieterp