stph
Newly Registered

What to plant in a strawberry planter?

I have just bought a terracotta strawberry planter - any suggestions about what to plant in it? I am a very beginner gardener. I was thinking of putting a rosemary plant in the main section. What about the little side pockets? And what would be the best place to put the planter for these plants?

Grateful for any suggestions!

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

stph,

Rosemary is a drought tolerant plant. If you do choose Rosemary that will dictate the types of plants that you can use in the pockets. You must pick plants that have similar requirements WRT moisture and sunlight.

If you must keep the pot in a certain location, shade/sun that will play a large part in the types of plants that you can use.

Norm

stph
Newly Registered

Thanks for your reply?

Do you have any recommendations for what to plant with rosemary? The pot will probably be in a fairly sheltered spot that will get some late afternoon sunshine. I'd like it to be colourful!

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

stph,

You're welcome?
The pot will probably be in a fairly sheltered spot that will get some late afternoon sunshine. I'd like it to be colourful!
Rosemary would be happier with quite a bit more sun than that, nor is it particularly colorful.
Do you have any recommendations for what to plant with rosemary?
If you are an active cook perhaps some other herbs that come from the Mediterranean as well. If I recall correctly, Oregano has a trailing habit that would be appropriate for the pockets.

Norm

Jess
Greener Thumb

Hi stph

Do not plant rosemary in the top or you will never be able to get it out and you will need to take it out as it will outgrow the pot in 2/3 years.. They do grow quite large and the root system will take over the whole pot. I know I have done it! :shock: